Huskers recognized at Greek Gala for exceptional philanthropic endeavors, service

Nebraska Student Affairs | MONDAY, JUNE 19, 2023

Thirty-one students and twenty-one chapters at the University of–Lincoln were honored with awards and scholarships at the Greek Gala held May 3, 2023 in the Nebraska Union.

The annual evening soiree is hosted by the Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life to honor the outstanding contributions of the fraternity and sorority community, recognizing their exceptional programmatic initiatives, philanthropic endeavors, and service activities during the previous calendar year. Thirteen award categories and six prestigious scholarships are presented.

Selected from over 100 nominations, the honorees and recipients were:

Chapter President of the Year
  • Nick Anderson, Sigma Phi Epsilon (IFC)
  • Marina Jimenez Caballero, Lambda Theta Nu Sorority, Inc. (MGC)
  • Jenna Gruber, Phi Mu (PHA)
Chapter Advisor of the Year
  • Deb Mullen, Sigma Phi Epsilon (IFC)
  • Akangkha Khan, Lambda Theta Nu Sorority, Inc. (MGC)
  • Kim Miller, Kappa Kappa Gamma (PHA)
House Director of the Year
  • Austin Bennett, Sigma Alpha Epsilon (IFC)
  • Shawna Field, Kappa Alpha Theta (PHA)
Senior of the Year
  • Isaac Jacobs, Alpha Gamma Rho (IFC)
  • Edgar Roman, Sigma Lambda Beta International Fraternity, Inc. (MGC)
  • Jenna Stevens, Kappa Alpha Theta (PHA)
Junior of the Year
  • Robert Masek, Sigma Phi Epsilon (IFC)
  • Natali Avila Castro, Kappa Delta Chi Sorority, Inc. (MGC)
  • Nyarial Nyoak, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. (NPHC)
  • Natalie Hole, Phi Mu (PHA)
Sophomore of the Year
  • Ben Jones, Sigma Alpha Epsilon (IFC)
  • Corey Nguyen, Lambda Phi Epsilon International Fraternity, Inc. (MGC)
  • Isela Tercero, Pi Beta Phi (PHA)
Break Out New Member
  • Will Wooden, Beta Theta Pi (IFC)
  • Jessica Kruse, Sigma Psi Zeta Sorority, Inc. (PHA)
  • Nyarial Nyoak, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. (NPHC)
  • Maggie Buettner, Phi Mu (PHA)
Outstanding Philanthropy
  • Sigma Phi Epsilon
  • Kappa Delta
Outstanding Community Service Program
  • Sigma Phi Epsilon
  • Pi Beta Phi
Outstanding Educational Program
  • Sigma Phi Epsilon
  • Alpha Omicron Pi
Outstanding Brotherhood Program
  • Sigma Phi Epsilon
Outstanding Sisterhood Program
  • Alpha Omicron Pi
Order of Omega Merit Award
  • Phi Kappa Theta
  • Lambda Theta Nu Sorority, Inc.


Frank Hallgren Scholarship
  • Naren Narasimhan