App State recognizes 2022–23 Fleming Scholarship recipients

By J. Todd Coates / Edited by Anna Oakes / Posted Nov. 10, 2022

Dr. Willie C. Fleming, kneeling, Dr. Reneé Evans ’97 ’99, far right, and Judge Gary Henderson ’92 ’94, back row, second from left, are pictured with the 2022–23 Fleming Scholars and Fleming Scholars from previous years at the Fleming Scholarship Recognition Reception held at App State’s Plemmons Student Union on Oct. 28. Photo by Chase Reynolds

BOONE, N.C. — Four first-year students at Appalachian State University have been named recipients of the Dr. Willie C. Fleming Scholarship — a merit-based award designed to support students from underrepresented populations.

The Fleming Scholarship program, now in its eighth year, covers full in-state tuition and fees for up to four consecutive years. The renewable scholarship includes mentorship by alumni, the opportunity to participate in inclusivity-focused events, and networking and team building within each group of recipients.

The scholarship was established by alumni to honor Dr. Willie C. Fleming ’80 ’84 for his many contributions to App State. Fleming retired in June 2021 after serving as App State’s first cabinet-level chief diversity officer. The two-time App State graduate served as App State’s director of minority affairs, known today as Intercultural Student Affairs, in the 1980s. He founded the App State Gospel Choir and the Black Student Association and was a founding member of the university’s Black Faculty and Staff Association. He was also instrumental in bringing Black Greek life to App State.

“This year’s Fleming Scholarship recipients are outstanding representatives of Dr. Fleming’s legacy,” said App State Chancellor Sheri Everts. “I look forward to watching them develop as leaders in the university community and beyond.”