YSU fraternities receive national recognition

July 24, 2023

Youngstown State University’s fraternities have received national recognition. Both student leaders and one of YSU’s chapters were honored with prestigious awards and scholarships for their excellence and accomplishments.

Sigma Tau Gamma Fraternity selected Clay Miller, who graduated from YSU in May, for the Sigma Tau Gamma Noble Man Hall of Fame 2023 class. With 59 active chapters and more than 2,000 members, Sigma Tau Gamma chose 10 of its members to be inducted into the Hall of Fame and as finalists for the Ellsworth C. Dent Man of the Year award. At the national Endeavor Conference in June, Miller, an Integrated Math Education major, was announced as the recipient of the 2023 Ellsworth C. Dent Man of the Year Award — one of the highest honors an undergraduate can achieve as a member of Sigma Tau Gamma.

Niko Mastorides, a Criminal Justice major who graduated in May, was named the True Gentleman of the Year — the highest honor bestowed on an undergraduate member — by the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity. With more than 12,000 members, representing 220 chapters, SAE chooses one member annually based on scholastic achievement, fraternity involvement, university leadership and community service to receive the True Gentleman of the Year Award.

Mastorides received his award during the 167th Sigma Alpha Epsilon National Convention in St. Louis in June. Also during the convention, YSU’s chapter of SAE (Ohio Alpha) was recognized as the “best chapter in the Realm.” SAE – Ohio Alpha was awarded the John O. Mosley Award for Fraternity Zeal, after four years of being a top five finalist in the country. This is the first time Ohio Alpha has received this honor, which recognizes the best chapter in the nation.

SAE members Michael Chaplow, a Finance major and Jacob Clemente, an Accounting major, also received rewards for outstanding chapter president and treasurer, respectively.