Fraternity and Sorority Life honors 2024 class of community pillars

Philip Sikes March 27, 2024

The Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life celebrated the impact of six instrumental leaders during its second Pillars of the Community Gala on Saturday, March 23 at the Madren Conference Center in Clemson. This year’s recipients included Winston Fowler, Donald McKale, Altheia Richardson, Joy Smith, Cathy Campbell Turner and Curtis White.

“We are grateful to these honorees for helping establish a strong culture within our fraternity and sorority community at Clemson,” says Gary Wiser, assistant dean of students and director of Fraternity and Sorority Life.

Assistant Vice President for Student Engagement Mandy Hays emceed the event. Hays was one of the inaugural Pillars of the Community honored in 2023. Special guests included Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs and Senior Associate Dean of Students Kimberly Poole, Fraternity and Sorority Life Advisory Board Members Ben Satcher and Lori Pindar. A Clemson professor, Pindar’s creative inquiry classes have provided research and documentation of Clemson University’s decorated fraternity and sorority history.

Following a short reception, Hays led a program that featured remarks from Wiser and Poole. The night concluded with the presentation of commemorative pillars to the honorary recipients, signifying their positive contributions to the Fraternity and Sorority Life community at Clemson. Read more on the accomplishments of the 2024 class.

“Clemson Fraternity and Sorority Life would not be the same without the involvement and support of these individuals,” Poole says. “These awards are symbolic of their impact, and we are honored to celebrate their contributions.”